Slammed Series by Colleen Hoover: How It Changed My Life

For those of you who don’t know this, I am IN LOVE with anything that has to do with Colleen Hoover. Some times I wish she could adopt me. It’s so much more than just her amazing books. It’s what her books gave me! A few weeks ago, I sent Colleen Hoover an email telling her how much I loved her books and SHE REPLIED! I think I died that day and came back from heaven. I shared  my story with her and now I want to share it with you. This is the email that I sent her:

_______________________________________________________

How your books have changed my life FOREVER

I just want to thank you for your AMAZING books! I read Slammed last for the first time last June when I was 18  and I have to say that my life has never been the same. My mother had passed away from breast cancer  the year before and I didn’t live with my dad, so I lived with my grandparents for a year before moving away to college. My mom is never going to be there to give me advice on boys or life lessons through your books I feel like she did . Also, I have two sisters that were always sulking around and I just looked at my oldest sister one day because she was complaining about everything and I told her “At least we were dealt cards”. After that, she read the books and now she’s as big of aCoHo as I am. Through every book I’ve read, I always know that there is a message that my mom is trying to send me because she knew how much I loved to read and that would be the best way to get to me. So for that, I want to tell you THANK YOU A MILLION TIMES because you have given me something that very few people can.

Also, The Avett Brothers. Oh, The Avett Brothers. When I tell you that I have become a super fan of theirs, I mean that I have become crazy obsessed! I saw them live in Tampa (and for $10) which in itself was an out of  body experience and I have almost all of their songs (my playlist has 100 songs). They have changed my musical life forever and now I will never be the same!
There is one more thing. I found out today that you have signed off your movie rights for the Slammed (congratulations!) and my friend (another CoHo& avett lover) and I play this game where we try to see what actor/actress would be perfect for our favorite book characters and I think I have found Will and Layken. Trust me, I didn’t take this lightly; Will and Lake hold a high place in my heart (I can say that they are my favorite book characters of all time (tied with Jo from Little Women and Travis and Abby from Beautiful Disaster). The winner for the role of Will and Layken go to (drum roll please…..) Steven R McQueen and Danielle Campbell!!! I know, it’s amazing!
SOOOO once again thank you so much! I will never be the same (in a good way) for the rest of my life thanks to you and your amazing characters. Feel free to share this with your fans. I feel like we are all part of one big family and I would love for them to hear my story. I would love to hear back! YOU ARE BUTTERFLYING ABSOLUTELY OUT OF THIS WORLD AMAZING!!!! 
 
CoHo for life and Avett Brother lover
Cecilia Garcia, 19
Orlando, FL (Originally from MIA but at UCF)
_______________________________________________________
Books have always been my way to escape life and it’s because of authors like Colleen Hoover, Jamie McGuire, Abbi Glines, J.A. Redmerski, Tammara Webber,  J. Sterling, Nicole Williams, etc. etc. that make this not so always perfect world a little more perfect!
5 Comments

July 11, 2013 · 9:01 pm

5 responses to “Slammed Series by Colleen Hoover: How It Changed My Life

  1. Pingback: I Can’t Even! …A Colleen Hoover YA Book Review | Written 'En Vogue'

  2. Colleen Hoover is my new found inspiration. She’s a force to be reckoned with, that is for sure. I just finished reading “Hopeless” and I cannot even begin to put into words what that book did to me…how it inspired me…made me fall in love with words and with writing all over again. I’ll have to check out “Slammed.” I can only imagine that it will be just as amazing. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sporadic Reads | 38. This Girl by Colleen Hoover

  4. Pingback: Review 38 : This Girl by Colleen Hoover | Sporadic Reads

Leave a Reply

