Book Review: “Divergent” by Veronica Roth

Divergent

Well if you’ve read my post on Book Hangovers!, then you would know how much I love “The Hunger Games” (and Peeta, I LOVE Peeta). So when I was looking up Shailene Woodley for Movie Update: The Fault in Our Stars Cast, I came across Divergent. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t live in a bubble. I had heard of it before (I had seen THIS on Buzzfeed), but I never really paid much attention to it. I looked up the trailer and I was intrigued, but also felt like it was just a wanna-be “The Hunger Games”. I gave it a shot anyways, and I think it has been the smartest decision I have ever made in my life! Yes, both books are about a tyrannical government and a girl who has the power to stop it, but it’s told in a completely different way. “Divergent” is about a girl named Beatrice (Tris), who is not like most of the others from the other factions and her own. She is divergent, which means that she doesn’t belong to I just one faction; she must choose one and it could mean leaving her family behind forever. But being divergent is a dangerous thing to be, especially since there is so much tension between the factions. Let me just say that Tris is one bad ass chick; she’s not strong or big but she has more balls than anyone else. Also, there is Four, the initiates’ trainer. Oh boy, if I wasn’t so in love with Peeta I would take him away with me and never look back! Can’t I just have them both? This book was outstanding! I went to theme parks all weekend and I looked like the most anti-social person ever because I was reading off of my phone’s kindle app the entire time and when we would get home, I would run upstairs and read until late at night. There were points in the book where I would have to put it down because I was getting so anxious, I couldn’t even think straight. The ending is phenomenal and it made me want to go ahead and buy Insurgent but I can’t yet because, since I read the entire weekend, I forgot that there was this thing called homework that cruel professors give students (don’t they understand that I have books to read?). But I want to space my time out anyways because the last book doesn’t come out until October and I don’t think my nerves could take it! But for sure I’m going to be first in line to see Divergent when it comes out in March!

If you want to buy it on Amazon, CLICK HERE! 

Leave a comment

September 9, 2013 · 2:43 am

Leave a Reply

